garam masala

IMG_0702

Everyone is feeling ill with colds.  Everyone except M who is as fresh, vibrant and energetic as always, will we ever keep up! We spent the day being easy on ourselves, went to a spot we like by the river, fed the goats there.  We watched the ballet and M after practising endlessly, finally, span around on one foot.  A big deal for this three year old.

I made us a curry for dinner, because thats what I like to eat when I have a cold, and I’m going to share on here my recipe for garam masala.  I started making it myself because we just couldn’t get it around here and then, as with a lot of things, I realised how easy it is to make and how much cheaper and better it is.  It’s been tweaked a lot over the years to get it right, how we like it anyway.  This recipe makes just enough to last me a few weeks, that way it doesn’t lose its flavour.

Garam Masala

1 tbsp Cardamon seeds (I just bash open the pods with a pestle and mortar and get them out that way)

1/2 inch cinnamon stick

2 tsp cumin seeds

1 tsp cloves

1 tsp peppercorns

1/4 of a whole nutmeg

1 tsp coriander seeds

1 piece star anise

1 long bay leaf

Just wizz that lot up together.

One thought on “garam masala

  1. Pingback: Garam Masala Spiced Pumpkin Cake (RR 2.3) | Simply.Striking

Leave a Reply

