Apples

IMG_0402

And there is a lot more where that came from, a LOT more.  What will I do with them?  I’m not entirely sure.  As I was picking them a few fell and bounced right off my head and still I was not struck by inspiration.  I know I will can a lot of stewed apples, something my family loves to eat with a spoon straight out of the jar.  I dont go crazy for the sloppy foods, but come February I’m digging in with the rest of them, it’s also really useful for apple pie/cake/crumble.  I recently had some stewed apples with vanilla which was really lovely actually.   “Why not cider?” I here you say.  Well, I hear it’s very simple to make but I really dont fancy buying any new equipment and I’m not a huge fan of that belly burn it gives you anyway.  We’ll see, I’m sure we’ll give it a go one year.

These apples pictured here are destined for the canner, being the first (and early) apples to be ready.  The very last apples we harvest will be put away gently into our food store, to hopefully last us all winter.   Thank you oh humble apple, I know I will learn to love and appreciate you more with each passing year…

Leave a Reply

